Palomine Lines

For a long time I’ve been using 20′ long cotton webbed leashes for Georgia and Pippin whenever we went on hikes.  They’ve become worn with age and started to shred.  I finally got it together and did some online research on different types of material.  Leather seemed to be the most durable but prices were really high for anything longer than ten feet.  I thought I had lucked out when I found 33′ long leather leashes on Amazon that were apparently made in the U.S. by the Amish for only $50.00.  I thought the quality would be excellent but when they arrived, that wasn’t the case.  They were extremely stiff and weren’t pressed thin like the 6′ leashes I have.  It was if the top and bottom of the leash was leather but the middle was soft like foam.  Needless to say, I returned them and began looking into synthetic materials.

I wanted something that was at least 30′, light weight and pliable.  I was also looking for something that would be easily cared for and durable because they would be dragged over rocks and fallen trees, through brush, mud, puddles and snow and I didn’t want to have to repeatedly spend time conditioning them or trying to unwind them if they got tangled up.  They needed to be thin so I could hold both leashes, wrapped up, in one hand.  Most importantly, they needed to be strong.

Through my search, I came across Palomine Lines and I’m so glad I did.  They are probably most used for tracking but they had all the qualities I was looking for and more.  A 33′ line with a 1/2 inch width was only $40.00 and you can customize them for your particular use.  The lines are double riveted for security with brass rivets and hold up to 700 lbs of pull-pressure.  They arrived pretty quickly and honestly, I couldn’t be happier with them.  They are perfect.

Here’s a little video showing Palomine Lines being successfully put through the test.  You’ll have to excuse the shakiness of the video.  It was freezing out and was also my first time video taping while walking and maneuvering with the pups.

Leave a Reply

