Houghton's Pond + Fly Fishing + Silent Moments

After Mom and Dad’s visit, when Mom returned to her rehab and Dad was tucked in at his, I made a detour on the way home and stopped at Houghton’s Pond in the Blue Hills Reservation.  It’s the first time I’ve been completely alone in almost a year with no responsibility to anyone but myself.  As selfish as that may sound, I think I need to do more of it.  Walking alone in the woods, no dogs, no cats, no family, by myself, was mentally quenching.  It was peaceful and quiet and as the sun was setting, it threw reflections of the trees and clouds into the pond and I sat for a long time without moving, without thinking; just simply being.  I do believe I need to do this more often.

Houghton Pond Fly Fishing

Leave a Reply

