Pippin

022copy2The road that Pippin travelled to reach me was a long one.

He arrived in my life a year after Georgia, at a time when I was contemplating a companion for her. I volunteer at my local animal shelter a few mornings a week and on a day in August 2002, I came upon a dog in one of the kennels that looked strikingly like her. So much so that I thought she had gotten out of the house and that the animal control officer found her and brought her to the shelter for me. It was only until I was at the kennel door that I noticed the slight differences; shorter, more compact, longer ears, not to mention the major difference; he was a he.

Any hesitations I had in regards to adopting a second dog were immediately quashed by Pippin’s amiable character. The fact that he had remained so good natured, even after what he had previously endured in his short two years, only made me love him more. He was brought to our shelter by the local groomer who told us his previous owner dropped him off to be groomed and never came back for him. Can you imagine? What is wrong with people? After many phone calls to the owner, we found that Pippin had been through three different homes in two years. His last owner kept him tied to the kitchen table during the day and told us that he was too hyperactive and was beginning to make their other dog just as “crazy”. It took no time at all to get them to officially surrender him to us.

It took even less time for him to integrate himself into my clan. When I first brought him home, I was nervous about how Georgia would react to him and secretly praying that everything would work out because he deserved someone to finally do right by him. I needn’t have worried. Georgia took to him immediately. They began romping and tumbling about like they had known each other since they were babies. And he did just as well with my cats.

That was seven years ago and today, Pippin is an integral part of my pack. Almost the bipolar opposite of Georgia, he is the court jester. He loves and trusts everyone and everything; almost to a fault. A true hunter by nature he’s a fly by the seat of his pants kind of dog; always ready to go.

In October of 2007, Pippin had a serious injury while playing in the backyard that left him paralyzed from mid back, through both back legs, to the tips of his toes. It took three months of rest and a year of physical therapy for him to heal to about 90% of what he once was. Now that he’s nine, he has a bit of arthritis that adds to his aches and pains but he doesn’t let it stop him. He never turns down the opportunity to go for a hike, swim in the lake or chase a ball and enjoys running but when he tries to keep up with Georgia on an off leash run, he ends up paying for it later with aches and stiffness, so I frequently take them for walks separately.  Summer last year he was only able to do a mile.  Today, with a consistent routine of exercise, stretching and the help of Dr. Tranberg of Scituate Harbor Chiropractic  , he can do three.  Our goal is to get to five by January.

Pippin is my inspiration and I am blessed to have him in my life. He constantly motivates me to reach further and teaches me to strive harder and not to sweat the small stuff. Pippin, another of my best friends, always keeps things light hearted and never, EVER allows me to take myself or life too seriously.

Leave a Reply

